In Praise of Boring Men

Know any “boring” men?  I have had the blessing of being married to one for 25 years and share this essay in his honor.

In Praise of Boring Men 

DSC_0036At a neighborhood picnic recently I heard this joke:

“What does an Ambien do when he can’t get to sleep?

He takes a Romney.”

Apparently, this is one of the chief criticisms of Governor Romney– that he is boring. Based on nothing more than this, I say, let’s elect him president.

If he is boring, then I must like boring men.  My father is boring.  My brother is boring.   My husband is boring.  All in the same wonderful way that Mitt Romney is boring. They are all predictable, dependable, stable, and trustworthy.  Lord willing, I am raising 4 boring sons…although the jury is still out on one of them, but I have high hopes for him as well.

Husband, father and brother all worked hard –or at least hard enough -through high school, went through college studying things the free-market deemed as valuable, got good jobs, got married (once) and raised happy, secure children.   They spent their free time coaching little league, driving ski boats, taking care of older relatives, and serving the churches, schools, and communities where their families were nurtured.

As a child of a boring dad I never had the excitement of wondering what his next girlfriend would be like, if he would be able to find another job before we lost the house, or what kind of mood he would be in late at night.  He was always available, always patient, and always kind.  Really boring don’t you think?

I apparently did not inherit the boring gene from my dad.  On the contrary even as a child I was unusually interesting.   My dance recitals were not to be missed affairs.  And the school programs I had parts in- well I was so good that Dad would rush away from his office, even during tax season-to see my performances.  And my contributions to conversation around the diner table were always greeted with interest and taken seriously.  No, I was not boring… like my dad.

As the wife of a boring husband I never have the thrill of considering where is he, who he is with, or if he will lose interest in the humdrum life of our home and family.  He is either with us or working … working hard.  And I knew what I was getting into, for he was boring even in college, spending long hours studying and working with student groups.

I guess it is true that opposites attract, for according to him I am not the least bit boring.  He flies all over the country running his company yet is eager to hear about developments with my fascinating football team mom job.   He has encouraged me to write more.  And he looks at me with that same intense look he has given me for 30 years and it, like always, causes my stomach to do that same little flutter.  You would think he might come up with something new.  But then again, why?

Through the blessing of the boring men in my life– father, brother, and husband- -I find that my childhood and marriage have been drama-free.  My worries have been few and my peace and contentment immense.

Through the blessing of a boring father, my sons can go about the business of their own lives without their parents’ lives complicating matters for them.  Exciting men suck the oxygen out of a room.  Boring men, like trees in a deep, cool forest, enrich and refresh the air around them.  They encourage growth in others.  It’s not all about them.

And now, I must go pack, for my boring husband is taking me to Italy Saturday to celebrate 25 years of marriage. The trip was not his idea nor did he plan it.  But that’s okay.  I have lots of fun ideas and like making travel plans.  And he will make sure we don’t have the excitement of forgotten tickets, lost passports, or missed trains.   And, engineer that he is, he will likely engage me in what is to him a fascinating conversation about the efficiency-or lack thereof- of airport security lines. But that’s ok, so long as he gives me that look, every now and then.

He may be boring, but I like boring men.

DSC_0210

14 thoughts on “In Praise of Boring Men

  1. peacefulwife

    We loved this post over at Peacefulwife Blog and we wanted to know if we could get you to guest post it on Peacefulwife. We love to introduce great posts to our audience and it gets you some additional readers for your site as well. If interested, my husband handles my guest posters and you can contact him at hopalong9119@hotmail.com.

    Reply
  2. Gary Waters

    Molly,

    I have to agree and disagree with you. Big Dan is not boring. Neither is Daniel. I do have to agree with you about Eddie. I know he loves it when I call him Eddie. Take Care! War Eagle!

    Gary Waters

    Reply
  3. ourfathersdaughters

    I love this – may I add a link from my blog? I write for young mothers (I have three daugthers) and I would like for these young wives to read this. Our culture says being married to one person for a long time is “boring” – I’ll take our 36 years of “boring’ anyday!!!!

    Reply
  4. Molly Powell Post author

    OurFathersDaughters,
    Indeed you may add a link. I am new to this so let me know if I need to help facilitate that. I was just reading your Fear or Faith post when your comment came through!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: In Praise of Boring Men – Guest Post « itsawonderfilledlife

  6. Ministry Addict

    This is outstanding (with the exception of my personal reservations about endorsing Mr. Romney). When my male friends started going through stereotypical mid-life crises, there was a short period of time when my wife was worried that I might come home one day with a dangerous motorcycle, an embarrassing tattoo, or one of those skin-tight tap-out t-shirts like the cage-fighters wear. I sometimes feel a certain pressure to be more “dangerous” or at least “exciting” for the sake of her and my daughters – because I don’t particularly enjoy the idea that I might be considered “boring” – but this post has encouraged me to think that maybe they’re glad I’m not the wrong kind of exciting.

    Reply
    1. ihcounsel Post author

      Thank you! Yes, the mid-life crises is a time we lose a lot of “boring men”! I laughed out loud thinking about cage fighter t-shirts! What would I do if my husband came home in one of those, Probably run the other way! Although it might be cute on him….as long as I knew he was the same boring guy underneath it might be ok! Thanks for for the laugh and your thoughts.

      Reply
  7. Simon

    As a boring man myself I loved this post, I often think that we are overlooked (but then I guess we would be if we’re boring). Although I’m not sure how far I want to be compared to Mitt Romney.

    Reply
    1. In-House Counsel Post author

      Thanks Simon! I am new to this blogging thing and apologize for responding so late. I think you are right- it can be easy to overlook or take for granted a “boring” man. I hope that my essay made some people think about and thank the “boring” men they know.

      Reply
    1. In-House Counsel Post author

      Thank you! Well, my husband isn’t really boring either-but I used the term for effect, tongue-in-cheek. So glad you are also blessed with marriage to a dependable, trustworthy man.

      Reply
  8. Yvette Kittrell

    Wonderful post. We are blessed in my family with some steady, trustworthy men and also some men who have caused anxiety and drama. I read this to my girls back in July. At their age, it is common for the world around them to hold the people in highest esteem who can party the hardest or turn the most heads. I appreciate your thoughtful post and I appreciate that this message comes from someone we know and love. I have shared it with a friend on facebook as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

